Tiller Pilots

Installation of instruments and electrics in the Cape Cutter 19

Re: Tiller Pilots

Postby erbster » Sun May 31, 2015 2:35 pm

Thanks for that info Dennis. This makes the raymarine tiller pilot quite an expensive option if one wants to use the tiller pilot whilst motoring. Almost makes me want to get a new outboard :/
erbster
Honorary President
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 7:57 pm
Location: Midlands

Re: Tiller Pilots

Postby Dennis » Sun May 31, 2015 5:31 pm

erbster wrote:Thanks for that info Dennis. This makes the raymarine tiller pilot quite an expensive option if one wants to use the tiller pilot whilst motoring. Almost makes me want to get a new outboard :/


A new outboard could be an expensive mistake!

I had exactly the same problem with a Yamaha 4 (4 stroke) and Simrad Tiller Pilot in my previous boat. Although a Marina 4 (2 stroke was OK).

It is a minefield. :confused:
Cheers

Dennis

CC19 #100 Mary Ann
User avatar
Dennis
CC19 Association Member
 
Posts: 1013
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:29 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: Tiller Pilots

Postby erbster » Sun May 31, 2015 8:06 pm

Dennis wrote:
erbster wrote: Almost


It is a minefield.


Sure is!
erbster
Honorary President
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 7:57 pm
Location: Midlands

Re: Tiller Pilots

Postby Paul Turner » Tue Jun 02, 2015 10:49 pm

I wonder if connecting the ST2000 to my Garmin GPS which is NMEA compatible will achieve the same effect without the need for a further external compass?
Paul Turner
CC19 Association Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:17 pm
Location: Dorset, 6 miles from Weymouth and close to Ringstead Bay

Re: Tiller Pilots

Postby Dennis » Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:25 pm

Hello Paul

I am sorry but the ST2000 does not accept the NMEA Heading information. It does accept other NMEA information (check the handbook). However it is the heading which is required for the tiller pilot to work.
Cheers

Dennis

CC19 #100 Mary Ann
User avatar
Dennis
CC19 Association Member
 
Posts: 1013
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:29 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: Tiller Pilots

Postby erbster » Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:01 pm

Well, I've taken the plunge and bought a secondhand st1000 from fleabay.
It has no socket and the rsymsrime item is expensive. Bulgin make good waterproof connectors which would be cheaper. They're rated at 3A. Any reason why I shouldn't use a pair of them instead?

Also, Dennis where did you get your flux gate compass?
erbster
Honorary President
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 7:57 pm
Location: Midlands

Re: Tiller Pilots

Postby Dennis » Mon Sep 07, 2015 6:45 pm

erbster wrote:
Also, Dennis where did you get your flux gate compass?


Hello Charles

You need the full ST40 package, (Electronic compass with external fluxgate). The ST40 readout unit converts the info from the fluxgate into Raymarine "Seatalk" protocol which the ST1000+ requires.

Bought mine on-line from MesLtd cost £197 inc postage (Jan 2013).
Cheers

Dennis

CC19 #100 Mary Ann
User avatar
Dennis
CC19 Association Member
 
Posts: 1013
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:29 pm
Location: Northumberland

Re: Tiller Pilots

Postby erbster » Mon Sep 07, 2015 7:02 pm

Thanks Dennis. This unit seems to have been superseded and is now a lot more expensive.
Looking at second-hand units. I think this might fit the bill- I would just need to make a sea talk connection to the st1000 I think?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/321849813223? ... EBIDX%3AIT
erbster
Honorary President
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 7:57 pm
Location: Midlands

Previous

Return to Instruments and Electrics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron