electric outboards

The dreaded Iron Top Sail we sometimes have to rely on.....

electric outboards

Postby oak » Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:56 pm

Has anyone had experience of the Epropulsion electric outboard.This is a new rival to Torqeedo which looks very interesting.I don't want it for Merlin but am considering one of that ilk for another boat.
I know some of our members have to use electric on the reservoirs.
Oak
Merlin
oak
CC19 Association Member

Re: electric outboards

Postby erbster » Wed Apr 18, 2018 10:05 am

I've no experience, but I'm interested too. I'd like an electric outboard to tour a tender in the river.
erbster
CC19 Association Member

Postby oak » Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:17 pm

How big is the tender.The torqeedo has 2 smaller units than the Epropulsion but they seem to give quite a few problems.There is a discussion on Bayrider forum.
Any chance Charles of those dimensions for the boom support?
Oak
oak
CC19 Association Member

Postby Dennis » Fri Apr 20, 2018 7:19 pm

Hello gents

I use a cheap and cheerful electric outboard on my tender.

It is (from memory, I am currently on holiday in Scotland) a Sunsport 32. It has 32 lbs thrust and consumes 26 amps on full power. It weighs 7 Kg I power it with a 26 AH 12v battery (weight also 7 Kg) which runs for 30 minutes at full power before the volts start to reduce noticeably.

It cost me £105 5 years ago.

It pushes my tender (and me) along at 2.5 Kts, which is faster than I can row it. :D

Hope this helps
Cheers

Dennis

CC19 #100 Mary Ann
Dennis
CC19 Association Member

Postby Black Sheep » Sun Apr 29, 2018 10:53 am

Hi,